Essence of Yoga: Foundation, Practice, Goal

In this four-class Buddhism and Yoga Series Dr. Neale distills the essence of Yoga through excerpts from the classic 2nd century text Yoga Sutras by Master Patanjali.  Explore how the path of Yoga views the nature of suffering and its causes, and how it offers a range of contemplative practices and lifestyle recommendations that lead to the ultimate goal of freedom.

Series Handout
Download Handout 

Class 1: What Assails Us – The Five Afflictions (Kleshas).
Monday, January 31, 2011
Download Part 1  |  Download Part 2

Class 2: Ethical Foundations – The Five Restraints (Yamas)
Monday, February 07, 2011
Download Part 1  |  Download Part 2

Class 3: Ethical Foundations – The Five Observances (Niyamas)
Monday, February 14, 2011
Download Part 1

Yoga & Meditation Workshop – Mindfulness Meditation and
the Four Immeasurables
Sunday, February 20, 2011
Download Part 1  |  Download Part 2

Class 4: Final Integration (Samadhi)
Monday, February 21, 2011
Download Part 1  |  Download Part 2


Comments are closed.